Friday, October 17, 2008

Obama Bucks (WACK!!)

There's one thing for sure about this presidential run-off, it sure has brought out the racists! Wow. I mean, for us people of color, we can feel yall a mile away. Its nothing new. The subtle sneers, and expectations of ignorant behavior have followed me for most of my life. But nowadays, most people "try" to hide their racist ways. Well, not today folks! Obama's proximity to the oval office has these fools bearing their fears to the free world. Its embarrassing that grown men and women should live their lives so scared. Fear is the mind killer. Well, they'll get theirs in the end. Karma is a mutha! Needless to say, a GOP group from San Bernadino, California sent out propaganda with Obama's face on a food stamp surrounded by chicken, kool aid, watermelon, and ribs. All the stereotypical snacks supposedly loved by black folks. I feel like I'm listening to that Ice Cube album where he says "Here's what they think about you...fuckin sell out!" These people have no class. This is the best they can do? These chumps are desperate and in a heap of trouble. Its sad that people will let a man's color determine their political decisions. I think its obvious that just cause your white, doesn't mean your entitled to lead. I know a lot of simpletons would like to think so, but think again. Evidence in case, your favorite son, George Dubya. Nuff said...


Sunday, October 5, 2008

KIMBO is KO'D!!

The first time I saw Kimbo, I was like "Damn!! This fool is a hood super hero.." I mean cmawn..he would hop out the whip. Stroll up rocking a chain. Then, he'd commence to whoop ass! It was pretty entertaining and often funny. He seemed unstoppable. Some fights were better than others, but they all showcased Kimbo's hulking haymakers. That is except for the one, where he fought some tall ex MMA dude...and MMA guy ends up putting Kimbo to rest in a drawn out slug fest to the finish. For me, that was the one insight I needed into the phenomena of Kimbo. It seemed to me then, that the guys he was fighting before were just homies off the street, walk ups. They weren't in the gym training and conditioning professionally. That difference made Kimbo look like a throw back to modern myths like Iron Mike Tyson in his early internet days. But, as the tale unravels, I fear that my suspicion is correct. In this clip, he gets beat down by what looks to me like an average fighter. The guy who beat him was a last second fill in. 14 seconds. 1 punch. In fact, this almost doesn't look real. This may be the end of the once famed Kimbo. All praise to the almighty internet.

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

America: Gone are the Days of Grandeur

As I sit contemplating the prospect of America's economic failure, a dark cloud looms over my head. How did we get to this dreaded point? What will this mean for the commoner? Is this just more media hype?
With Obama surging past McCain, and the stock markets dropping precipitously, something feels different about this moment. It's as if the decades of careless opulence have caught up with us. No longer will the "American" image be one of glamour and wealth. Our lack of leadership has made sure of that. Our ill-conceived dependence on foreign oil has backed us into a corner. The question is whether we can fight our way out of this one. Sure, we bounced back from the Great Depression, but it took a World War to do it. In this day, we are already at war, and it no longer stimulates the economy as it once did. Huge defense money is recycled thru the dirty hands of politicians, and big business...while young people die in the sand. It's a wicked cycle.
Meanwhile, the American public champions wack performers like Sarah Palin. After 8 years without legitimate leadership, somehow we are still fascinated by the fashion show which is American politics. It's downright shameful. We've allowed the media to lash us back and forth in a popularity contest based on color and gender.
It's perplexing that the masses are so ignorant to mistake flash, for true leadership capability and insight. For, as the country struggles under the combined weight of 8 years of mismanaged government: (the S&L scandal, Enron, 9/11, war in the Middle East, rising gas prices, the devalued dollar & the mortgage crisis)...the crooked barons who've lead us here are not even questioned. Needless to say, they will be the least effected by the chaos since they've taken sufficient time to pad their pockets.
We live in changing times, in a crucial moment. How will we handle this great responsibility? The entire world watches with baited breath, as the true meaning of globalization is slowly realized. I pray that we can come together as a diverse, but unified people and overcome this challenge. But, with fear, greed, and racism at a seemingly all time high, it feels like the chances are slim. Yet, there is still the opourtunity to fly in the face of convention and finally, once and for all, do the right thing. We will soon truly see what the American people are made of.

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Zion I @ Hip Hop Kemp (Europe's Largest Hip Hop Fest!!)

In this day and time, the music festival has made a dramatic resurgence. This is evidenced from Rock the Bells to Coachella. The festival has become the new communique of a given society's taste and culture. At the end of this past August, we were blessed to be able to perform at Hip Hop Kemp in the Czech Republic. For those that don't know, it is now Europe's most acclaimed Hip Hop festival (having passed up Germany's "Splash Fest"). This year it was located in an old Czech Airport hangar. Sprawling across hills and carved out Earth, it was estimated that there were at least 20,000 in attendance.
We arrived after a horrible layover in Switzerland (trust me, its a whole 'nother story) with about 3 hours of sleep under our belts. Walking into the hotel lobby we said what's up to Roxanne Shante and Bahamadia. Roxanne Shante??! That's right, she's still holding it down after 20+ years with a psychology practice and the whole nine. After that, we slept for as long as we could (about 2 hours) before having to head over to Kemp. At the spot, we were surrounded with artists from the world over. Ranging from the Roots to the Perceptionists, the Hip Hop galaxy was in full and total effect. What's interesting about the festival is that the crowd doesn't seem to care if you're indie or major, as long as you rock. With that said, check the following footage. It gives some insight into the sheer magnitude of the event. This was our last song of the night, and the crowd was feeling it. Shout out to Vinroc for the footage and the edit (he dj'd for us while AmpLive was on his honeymoon in Mexico). I got a Birds Eye View...

Friday, September 19, 2008

Blacks Against Obama???

I was watching Current TV...and this clip jumped off the screen! It starts off with Obama doin his thing. Suddenly, you notice a rowdy buzz. Obama strains to feign indifference. But the buzz grows into a slow roar, and suddenly the camera pans up to signs that read "KKK"?? What kinda shit is this? Then, I see that these are black folks!? Now its just weird. Given...some of my folks have definitely expressed concern about what Obama will actually be able to change when he gets in. I hear that. But it just feels ackward to read signs saying "Obama is for the KKK". C'mawn man! I'm perplexed as to how a black man could ever rep that, no matter the point being made. I mean, I get what they're trying to say (though I don't agree), but damn?! Some would say that the Republicans paid these fools. At this point, who knows. Politics...makes me sick.

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Remembering Bernie Mac

I know I'm a little late with this, but I had to pay proper respects to my man. The first time I saw him was on Def Comedy Jam and I immediately recognized his immaculate timing and authenticity. In my humble opinion, true comedians are natural, and Bernie Mac was no exception. He was one of those dudes who could say anything and have the whole room cracking up. Two of my favorite performances of his were Fridays, and Players Club. On Aug. 9th he died from pneumonia at the age of 50. Most of us didn't see it coming at all. This is in memory of one of our greats...





Thursday, August 28, 2008

Obama's Speech 8/28/08

I just watched Obama's speech and was definitely trippin off of the historic magnitude of the moment. On the anniversary of MLK's "I Have a Dream" speech, Obama took the stage. Is this for real? At points, I felt like I was watching an episode of the Twilight Zone..or maybe a scene from Malcolm X. I don't know. I felt joyous and elated with the fact that an African American had defied the odds by securing the Democratic nomination. Yet, the conspiracy brother in me could not help but feel slightly paranoid as the fireworks went off while Obama smiled with his family. Strange indeed. Maybe its me, but it all feels scripted in some bizarre way. Quite possibly I'm feeling this way because of the report that 3 men were arrested for talking about killing Obama, and were captured with meth and guns. I see that we're breaking new ground, but is it the same old party line with a new face? Is this some grand move of Masonic trickery? Its hard to tell. I'm voting Obama for sure, but of the political system in general, I'm still not a believer.


obama

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Remember When..the RAIDERS '86!!!

This is an oldie but goodie. Actually, this is for all the Raiders fans out there that desperately miss the glory days. The Raiders actually look aite this preseason. But that don't mean a thing. Last season they did good in the preseason...and stank up the regular season. We still go hard for the Raiders. Its also for my folks that are dedicated Madden heads...yall might laugh at this too. The raps are wack...and so is the beat...but who cares!

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Black Thought & Skillz Freestyle Battle

Yes yes yall! J Period put me up on this while we were chillin' at AmpLive's wedding in Mexico. Pure niceness. Real MC's will appreciate the skill and ease with which Black Thought and Skillz weave patterns, whilst kickin' it on the tour bus. Relax and enjoy true craftsmanship. MC'in ain't dead family...


Friday, August 15, 2008

DJ Vlad Sues Rick Ross for Severe Beatdown at Ozone Awards!!

I'm sure most of you hip hop fanatics have heard about Rick Ross being exposed as a correctional officer back in the day. It seems ironic that a dude who claims the dope game as his birthplace was also a prison guard. Strange indeed. Yet, the saga continues. It seems that the homey DJ Vlad had posted an interview with the Clipse where they were discussing Rick Ross's supposed "cop" background. Rick Ross got wind of this interview, and began text messaging DJ Vlad with cryptic messages. Somehow, while at the Ozone Awards, Rick Ross lured DJ Vlad into a hotel room, where 4 of his patnas beat DJ Vlad to a pulp. As a result, DJ Vlad is suing him, and with good reason. Its funny to me that Trick Daddy came out way before Vlad to air out Ross, but he did nothing to retaliate against Trick. Yet, when he had the chance to corner DJ Vlad, he went overboard. Now...is that gangsta??? Peep game...

Rick Ross Exposed



the Clipse interview...



Synopsis of the DJ Vlad/ Rick Ross Funk

Monday, August 11, 2008

Robert Downey Jr Plays a Black Dude???!

I'm all about comedy. In fact, I love to laugh. There's nothing I enjoy more than a hearty comedy to get the chuckles going. But, the new film "Tropic Thunder" doesn't seem that funny to me. Mainly, this is because of the fact that one of the main hooks of the movie is that Robert Downey Jr. is a white dude, made up and supposedly acting like a black dude. Now, I just don't get it. I thought Spike Lee had the last and final word on the whole "blackface" phenomena with "Bamboozled". In this film, this tragedy of whites entertaining themselves by creating stereotypical images of blacks is explored in a painful, oft times disturbing way. However, in "Tropic Thunder" it feels as if the pain underlying these damaging images has been ignored. I can't believe that in 2008, Hollywood has the audacity to "greenlight" such a wack ass concept. I read today that the film is being boycotted by several groups concerned about its negative portrayal of the handicapped. I'm wondering why black folks aren't riled up about this madness. Needless to say...I won't be going to see this one.

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Crazy OBAMA Illustrated in "the New Yorker"

I know we're making history in this country, with the first black presidential candidate and all. I also know that politics is a dirty game. What I don't know is how much racism from the collective unconscious of America will have to spew forth before we can move forward into a new day. Presumably, the muck-slinging has just begun, and I'm sure its going to get worse. The preview was Hillary, and her forthright attacks on Obama's race and class. I can only imagine what McCain is going to come with.
Case in point is the below illustration. Boy, the dude who drew this must really be scared. In his mind, he must equate blackness with anarchy and chaos, as is evidenced by the flag burning in the fireplace and a portrait of Bin Laden on the wall. He also has Michelle dressed like some neo-militant, and has Barack in traditional middle eastern garb. To add to this, they're giving each other the "terrorist" handshake...which just happens to be the ol skool greeting of choice amongst folks, but I guess white America doesn't know that?? Strange. I guess its supposed to be funny. Hardy ha ha...

Obama in "the New Yorker"

Friday, August 1, 2008

Ludacris Cited As Radical Obama Associate?? (haha!!)

Man I tell you...seems like the world is going crazy contemplating ways to stop Obama's candidacy. This time they've elected Luda as a radical. Fa real??? When did Ludacris become a radical?? Or maybe its just because he's loud, scary, and black. Its pure irony and comedy mixed up in an ugly blender. They're not going to stop going at this cat until he's finally elected, and even then I'd wager that he'll be held under a microscope to the nth degree by liberals and racists alike. Try as they may...McCain still seems doomed to failure. Peep game..



Monday, July 28, 2008

Stepbrother's "Boats & Hoes" Video (Funny!!)

Will Ferrell, for what its worth, is one of the funniest dudes in the game to me right now. That overly serious gaze matched with his quirky punchlines get me every time. If your a fan...you need to go check "Stepbrothers", its not gonna change your life, but it will make you bust a gut laughing! Check this video from the film...

WE are NOT ALONE...

Do aliens really exist? Have we been visited? An astronaut named Edgar Mitchell says yes to both of these questions! In an interview just 5 days ago, he discloses some pertinent information about the reality of extraterrestrial life, and the fact that our government has been covering it up for the past 60 years. Wow. In my mind though, it only makes sense that there is life beyond our world. Lets be realistic, we barely understand the ocean, which just happens to be 75% of our own planet. I'm sure we'll be discovery new species in the coming years. How can we claim to understand the great expanse of space that surrounds us infinitely? To back it up, my man Nas even breaks it down with the song "We Are Not Alone" off his new record. Just maybe, we are headed towards an event horizon. What do you think?




Saturday, July 12, 2008

Killa Cam & Mase Ballin' in High School

I happened upon this lil jewel by accident... but its HELLA funny! This ackward and quirky clip is of Cameron and Mase ballin' in high school. Wow!!??! Made me hark back to my ol skool daze...yaaadiggggg! If ur a Killa Cam fan you'll definitely appreciate this...

Saturday, July 5, 2008

The Cool Kids Freestyle

It starts kinda slow with Chuck Inglisch stumbling freestyle...but when second dude, Mikey comes in...I gotta admit..freestyle he murders it!! Definitely feelin the content and flow...especially of the top. Peep game..and leave some commentary...was it tight??



Meet the Walrus

This animation is dope...plus I'm a huge Beatles fan. John Lennon himself narrates to some ill and well thought out graphics. Semi-lengthy...but take your time and soak into the message. the goodness.

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Super High Me-the Movie

Recently, on a late night excursion...I happened upon this little gem on ComCast. Its based on the concept behind the film "Super Size Me", except instead of eating McDonalds all damn day, dude smokes trees. Ingenious?! But really, its quite comical along the way. Its kinda interesting how little effect 30 days of smoking bomb has on him..compared to dude in Super Size Me who's liver and kidneys were all messed up afterwards. Check the clip...it'll give you a slight whiff of whats to come..

Monday, June 30, 2008

Jamie Fox Ruins This Poor Guy

I don't know what to say...except that this is funny as hell!! I do feel bad for the dude that had to catch the backhand of all this clownin'...but maybe somewhere in the universe, he deserved it. I can't call it. Just peep game and watch a master at work.

Holographic Text Messaging??!

This is a trip. Is it real?? U tell me...

Thursday, June 26, 2008

Shaq Goes Hard On Kobe...Sorry Lakers fans...

I heard about this and it sounded ridiculous from the jump, but then I watched the video! Wow...Shaq don't give a damn. But, I don't think they should have taken his badge??! What kinda sh*t is that?? Weak. Anyway..laugh it off and watch this flick!!



Wednesday, June 25, 2008

ICE T Sizes Up Soljah Boy

This tirade from Ice T is pretty funny...but he hits on some serious points. Its interesting to see the young/old...OG/new skool...comparisons and how they relate to the culture. Ice does seem alittle outta pocket for going hard on such a youngsta...but maybe he has a point? In all actuality, its a silly ass beef...that won't last. Thank God!

McCain Sings about Bombing Iran??!

With all the presidential hoopla building steam, I thought I might as well put my two cents in. Moving forward, this guy scares me. I mean, do we need another idiot cowboy pulling the trigger for big business, while we suffer more and more stateside? Its hard to believe this character is actually an option. It feels like I'm watching some skit on adult swim...


Monday, June 23, 2008

New NAS VIDEO

I heard about this album, and couldn't help but think that Nas was doing whatever he could to build some kind of controversial buzz around his album. It seemed kinda pretentious to me, even coming from one of my fav MC's. But..upon checking out this video, I see alittle better where he is coming from. He's definitely not afraid to confront the complexity of Hip Hop's fanatic infatuation with the word "nigger". I've heard countless debate on the word..its pros and cons...the one thing I think we can agree on is that it is a tragic aspect of the American psyche, symbolized by the oppressed..perpetuated by the oppressor. Peep..

A Shout to Graf Writers!

Big up to all HIP HOP crew worldwide!!! This is love for the writers..the underground architects who really hold down the streets for our culture!! I found this little gem a couple days ago..and thought that the concept was dope. It kinda leans toward the GREEN idealogy which is all the rave these days. ART+NATURAL ENVIRONMENT= DOPE! Enjoy...and hit wit some commentary!
BLESS..

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

NYOIL VIDEO

Peep this jewel I found today. Immediately upon watching the following video...i found myself uncomfortable. It forced me to ask hard questions, about who had written the song and why. It made me think...like good art should. Its quite harsh at turns, but I definitely feel the energy he's coming with. Feel free to comment...I'm eager to hear ur replies:

Thursday, May 22, 2008

SuperWave Theory (2012)

I stumbled over this footage today, and found it quite compelling. Its quite scientific and indepth, so if you're looking for a quick fix, watch the second video. The first one is a great description of a coming cosmic event on Dec. 21, 2012. The second is a more general synopsis of general theories about this date. Its heavy stuff for sure. (For a very well rounded perspective...you have to watch all 3 chapters of both.) It all surrounds itself around the Mayan Calender , and a proverbial judgement day. Its an event that occurs once every 5,125 solar years. There are countless astrological and philosophical arguments on the importance of this date. Yet, what intrigues me is the depth of science which stands behind many of these statements. One main point is that of the "pole shift". This is an event which causes the magnetic fields on Earth to shift, which would in turn cause unimaginable changes to the surface of our world. You think these ideas are crazy? Find out for yourself:




Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Justice "Stress" Video

This video lives up to its name and actually gives the viewer the experience of well...stress. A chaotic depiction of disaffected youth, told in documentary style. It caught my attention because of its rawness and attention to detail.

Spread the Word (ad)

This is overt advertising..but i find the concept interesting. I saw this video a couple weeks ago..and found myself trying to explain it..so I'm just posting it now for those who have yet to bear witness. Peep game and tell me what u think...

Friday, May 16, 2008

Huckabee Jokes About Gun Being Pointed at Obama

In the following clip, Republican and Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee jokes about a gun being aimed at Obama. Since when was it cool to insinuate violence against a presidential candidate? According to the Homeland Security Act, shouldn't this be perceived as a terrorist threat? Oh, excuse me...that was, and is a joke. I guess its okay because Obama's African American heritage makes it okay for him to be a target. That's how they've always dealt with us in Amerikkka. The sad part about it is that there is much truth in Huckabee's wanton humor. How will this country deal with a black man as president? I heard a comment the other day that Obama will need a "bulletproof" suit if and when he makes it into office. Will we ever get past the color of skin and into the depths of one's character in this delusional country? Only time will tell. Till then...Huckabees reckless comments will point to an ignorant segment of society who refuse to be inducted into the world community. Good luck with the future..you suckazzz!!


Thursday, May 15, 2008

50 Cent Chain Snatched in Angola

Now...I know this is alil late..but I think some of yall might enjoy this. The most interesting thing about this video is the semi-anarchic nature of Angola compared to the US and other western countries. For those that have never been to the 3rd world..this is a peak into a very raw reality. Keep in mind that Angola is a country that suffered under colonialism thru the Portuguese, and had a civil war that lasted from 1975-2002! According to Wikipedia "Angola's economy has undergone a period of transformation in recent years, moving from the disarray caused by a quarter century of war to being the second fastest growing economy in Africa and one of the fastest in the world. The country has developed its economy since political stability arose in 2002. However, it faces huge social and economic problems as a result of an almost continual state of conflict since 1961. Poverty remains widespread. Anti-corruption watchdog Transparency International rated Angola one of the 10 most corrupt countries in the world in 2005. The capital city is the most developed and the only large economic center worth mentioning in the country, however, slums called musseques, stretch for miles." With that said...enjoy...


Monday, February 25, 2008

Stop the Violence (Self-Construction)

Grammy Weekend in LA is so heavy that you can actually stumble into an all-star studio session. Case in point, when I lucked up and got invited to drop bars on the KRS-One sponsored "Self-Construction". We were at the LA Recording School in Hollywood working on our new single "Juicy Juice", when Amp ran into Rakaa from Dilated Peoples. Rakaa suggested that I come contribute to the project, as there would be hella MC's adding on. I was going to show up at the studio a little later, but when Amp dropped that on me, I told him to come pick me up pronto.
When I arrived, there were about 10 cats slipping and sliding in and out of the studio. The pounds ensued as they hipped me to the game. The song was called "Self-Construction" as an ode to the hip hop classic "Self-Destruction". Yeah, I'm with that. I went back over to our studio to check the mix, and got caught up. I'd have to return tomorrow to complete the mission.
The next day (Saturday), I came back to the spot where an even larger crowd had formed. This time I had come prepared. My verse was ready, albeit only 4 bars...let's go! I peeked into the control room to witness the somber mugs of studio rats. Heads bobbed to the chunky knock dripping from the monitors. An anonymous MC spit rhymes in the mic room as I eyed my opportunity to get on. I stepped to the producer and hollered, "What up fam? I'm ready." "Aite, go head", he responded pointing to the now empty booth. I jumped at the chance because something inside was telling me to get it in quickly before the heavy hitters showed up. As I steadied myself before the mic, the engineer told me that he needed a few minutes. All good. The next thing I knew, the producer was thumbing me out of the booth. Damn! Moments like this suck. I wondered to myself, "what's the problem now?" As I walked back into the studio, I saw what the commotion was about. Producer dude was snuggled up tight next to Nelly as I opened the door. Nonetheless, Nelly turned and greeted me like I was the old school homey. At least he was cool. But, now I was back into the same position I had just left. As I surveyed the scene, the Game and his entourage flooded the room, eight deep. Seconds later, about six more folks crashed into the shrinking studio to absorb the spectacle. From my position behind the door I counted heads, and tried to figure out how long this would take. I guess "star" power goes a long way.
I bided my time as bodies went in and out of the vocal booth. One dude took about 30 minutes as he fumbled thru a freestyled verse. Somehow, I maintained my game-face despite feeling slightly dissed. When the Game finished, and half the room walked out with him, I knew it was now or never. Within 5 minutes I had dropped my four bars. Whew! Finally got that off, now I could chill.
In the studio lobby, a massive assembly of artists, interviewers, and well wishers chilled together. It was dope to holla at folks, as everyone was juiced by all the illustrious talent in the building. I ran thru a gamut of interviews where folks seemed to be genuine about supporting the Stop the Violence Movement. Honestly, it was refreshing to see Hip Hop rallied around something uplifting. It was cool to see a dude like Nelly lay his beef with KRS to the side, in the name of unification.
With all the negative publicity that Hip Hop gets, this day was a prime example of how the media simply refuses to cover positive events within the culture. This is the type of jump off that needs to be seen on the nightly news. What better message to send to the youth? Even with all the different types of MC's in the house, when it comes down to it, even the most hardcore gangsta knows that peace is not the word to play. Its a beautiful message that we need right now. It really helped me to reconnect with the true potential that we have as the Hip Hop massive. To all the good people that came out to rep...much respect! Stop the violence..

Tuesday, February 19, 2008

The Roots Pre Grammy Jam @ the Key Club

It was Grammy Weekend in Los Angeles, and the anticipation in the air was palpable. We'd been kicking it for the previous few days, checking out the comings and goings of the jet set. But, according to our schedule, the Roots party on Saturday was the place to be. I knew I had to elevate the game, so I threw on a fly lil blazer and crisp pair of jeans. We rolled to the spot 5 deep: Goapele, Namane (her brother/our manager), Theo, Amplive and myself. As we pulled up, a thick throng of fly individuals milled around. Even with an rsvp, this would be an exercise in patience.
We waited in the car, marvelling at the assembling all-star cast, while Namane shuffled thru the well dressed mass in search of a way in. He emerged 30 minutes later and ushered us thru the chaos to a small table where we received our passes. As we turned to walk in, Namane whispered something to what looked like a hostess. Suddenly I heard her voice echo out over a loud speaker, "this is the hip hop group..Zion I". Wow. We moved semi-sheepishly into the din of snapping lights and cameras as we took our first steps on the red carpet. It was unexpected, but pretty cool. After that, the rest of the night would be a breeze.
The Key Club was a dim hovel encircling a medium sized stage which stood one floor below the balcony we were on. As soon as we walked in I saw King Tech of Wake Up Show fame. We chopped it up for a minute, before he invited us to come to his show the next day. Dope. We moved further into the mix, and settled into the casual mix of celebrities and industry insiders. Several actors, actresses, producers, rappers, singers, and reality tv folks hobnobbed the night away in true LA bliss. I sat back and peeped the scene enjoying the subtle spectacle.
The next thing I knew, Questlove was onstage bouncing into an edgy drum solo. Let the show begin. Without warning, Travis Barker appeared on the traps next to him and began shedding. It was fresh to see two masters inspire each other into rhythmic unison. Questlove with his daddy cool, and Travis Barker with his frenzied maniac. This immaculate pairing was only the beginning. Soon, the rest of the Roots crew sauntered to the stage and dipped and dabbed into jams from Game Theory to Phrenology. Yet in classic jam session style, they were joined by the lead singer of Fall Out Boy, Seal, Wale, and Alice Smith amongst others. There were even whispers that Prince would join the constantly morphing ensemble, but he didn't. I would have loved to see that!
As the night moved on, my feet began to cry out for mercy. The long hours on my feet posted near the bar began to take its toll. I guess partying 3 days straight eventually adds up. It caught me sideways, as I felt the firm grip of fatigue grab me midway through the performance. It was all good, I had seen enough to last me for awhile. In that short time, I had stocked up enough inspiration to last me for a least a couple albums. A toast to hip hop...a toast to the Roots!


Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Zion I Rocks Zellerbach Auditorium @ UC Berkeley

Twas Feb. 1st at the academic mecca of UC Berkeley, at the storied Zellerbach Auditorium. Gathered together were some of the brightest literary minds in the country. We were all summoned there in the name of activism as it relates to the hip hop culture. It was truly an honor to be present. As I languidly slid into the underground parking at the designated time of 8:30, I had no idea of what a legendary night it would be.
I met our manager Tim House in the concrete fortress beneath the performance area. As we made our way thru the labyrinth of hallways and doors, he informed me that the house was packed. Wow. I wasn't expecting as much, but it would definitely help to get me juiced for the show. This is especially true since my stomach was still bubbling from having eaten bad sushi a precious few days before. Yuck...it hurts just to think about it. When we reached the lobby, I saw the vigorous activity of a full blown concert. Baby faced college and high school students mixed and mingled in anticipation of the evenings events.
A program coordinator led me to backstage where I saw old school homies like Bamuthi (host of the affair), Dahlak, and many prominent Youth Speaks poets. Among the nights performers were iLL-Literacy, Ammo from Philly (the champions of the 2007 Youth and Collegiate National Poetry Slams), Siren's Echo from Portland and Atlanta, and Gabriel Teodros from Seattle. The vibe was laid back, but a thin veil of tension hung ever so gently in the air. I chilled backstage until Amplive and Deuce Eclipse sauntered in with swift succession.
After about 20 minutes of lightweight rhetoric, it was time to hit the stage. Bamuthi gave us a rousing introduction, as he freestyled a perfect segueway, while Amp navigated several apparent sound issues. Once we started rocking, it was obvious that this would be a night to remember. The crowd rocked with furious swagger, yelling back the lyrics to "Temperature" and "Bird's Eye View. They bopped hard to the riot of beats banging thru Zellerbach. I looked at Deuce and could see that he was tripping off the intensity as much as I was.
Something seemed to snap, however, once we dipped into "Don't Lose Ya Head". Suddenly, the kinetic energy in the room was activated, as arms and legs twisted thru the air with rare vigilance. Dreads bounced viciously, and shoulders snapped under the impact of Amp's booming bass. "Don't-d-d-don't-don't lose ya head!" Slowly a mosh-like pit formed on the left side of the stage. Dope!
We saved "the Bay" for the finale, and I'm glad we did. As soon as the low swoon of stand up bass hit the speakers, squads of hyped fans rushed the stage. By the chorus of the song Deuce and I were surrounded by hundreds of audience members singing the song, mean mugging, and dancing! The only word to describe the scene is euphoric. I felt like I had just smoked one to the face, but I was clear as the day. The enthusiasm of the chaotic scene only increased the revelry of the capacity theatre. It was truly a celebration of our unique corner of the Earth. Cats were showing off their best thizz faces, dancing as if tomorrow would never come. I could barely contain my smile enough to finish off the song! Honestly, it was one of the illest moments in my career thus far. The only thing I was scared of was that the stage might break. There were so many people on it giggin', that I could feel the age old floor giving way under the weight of youthful expression. Luckily, it heldfast, and we were able to finish the show without incident or injury.
To close it out, I'd like to big up the fans for making it a night to remember! All yall who came out, represented, and didn't cause any problems, thank you. Hip Hop already has a bad reputation, we appreciate those who respect the culture enough to have a good time, but leave the bs behind. All massive hold tight...until the next time. Blessed!

zumbi

Saturday, January 19, 2008

The Cool Kids in SF

It was a brisk night in the bustling city of San Francisco, CA the night of January 17th. The Cool Kids, all the way live from the Chi were in town, and the hipsters were out in full force. We rolled to the venue, the Independent, around 10:30 and were met with a frisky line eager to get out of the chilly air. As we slid thru the crowd, an anonymous dj played various grooves from a pantheon of hip hop and club records. The vibe was mellow, but cool.
The first crew to hit the stage was Hot Tub, a local crew comprised of 3 ambitious female vocalist (black, white, and phillipino) and 2 dudes on production. I missed their show, but have seen them before around town. Their style is akin to, lets say an M.I.A., without the political forethought, or grimy street edge. Their hook is that they flaunt their sexuality. More on that later. The second group was called Freebase 808. I don't remember much about them, as they were quite nondescript. The only thing I really recall is that they had a live drummer, and the MC was wearing jeans which looked like they had been systematically ripped up.
Then, the Cool Kids (Chuck Inglisch and Mikey Rocks) sauntered onto the stage wearing matching jackets and tight ass tapered jeans. Even with the overly tight fit, they gave off an EPMDish vibe with their back and forth wordplay and party style antics. I was digging their ruff, downtempo production. A lot of it reminded me of Screw music, with its slowed down vocal sample hooks. Chuck Inglisch struck me as the true lyricist of the crew, with his nasal tenor that consistently cut thru the industrial drone of heavy drums and synths. I also peeped their obvious disapproval of played out rap truisms. In one verse Mikey Rocks quipped "I play video games, how gangsta is that? Not gangsta at all." I can dig it. Their willingness to embrace the tried and true virtue of hip hop, party rocking, instead of trying too hard to be tough won the crowd over.
Towards the end of their set, one of the girls from Hot Tub (the white one) got up and started dancing. A couple of the other crew members slowly joined her, but as the show progressed returned to their spots at the back of the stage. The dancing girl however didn't take the hint and continued to flamboast the stage, as if she was rocking her own set. The crowd, suddenly began to take notice. As she lifted a pair of crutches, she acted like it was a submachine gun, and began blasting members of the packed in crowd. The audience responded with restless boos. The next thing I know, the Hot Tub girl grabbed the mic and began rapping what sounded like a pretty weak club verse. The crowd responded with more boos, and this time a cup of ice flew towards the stage. Sensing danger, Mikey Rocks gripped the mic from "the girl", as he and Chuck regained control of the crowd.
As they dipped back into their next song, the aforementioned Hot Tub girl jumped up from the huddled mass of her crew at the back of the stage and commenced to stage dive into the crowd! She looked like a bull in a china shop, as she pinballed around the confused mass before jumping once again, back onstage. By the way, as she crawled back to her hovel, she simultaneously mooned the crowd and slapped her nearly bare ass for emphasis. The Cool Kids didn't flinch as they kept it moving, assuaging what could have surely been a disaster.
The night ended on a high note as the Cool Kids flipped thru a couple new joints, giving us a peek at what is to come. Overall, it was an entertaining night, both for what was dope, and for what was wack. Entertainment comes in both forms I suppose. Lets hope that the next time they come thru, they bring the whole pot of gumbo with them again. Big up!