I'm all about comedy. In fact, I love to laugh. There's nothing I enjoy more than a hearty comedy to get the chuckles going. But, the new film "Tropic Thunder" doesn't seem that funny to me. Mainly, this is because of the fact that one of the main hooks of the movie is that Robert Downey Jr. is a white dude, made up and supposedly acting like a black dude. Now, I just don't get it. I thought Spike Lee had the last and final word on the whole "blackface" phenomena with "Bamboozled". In this film, this tragedy of whites entertaining themselves by creating stereotypical images of blacks is explored in a painful, oft times disturbing way. However, in "Tropic Thunder" it feels as if the pain underlying these damaging images has been ignored. I can't believe that in 2008, Hollywood has the audacity to "greenlight" such a wack ass concept. I read today that the film is being boycotted by several groups concerned about its negative portrayal of the handicapped. I'm wondering why black folks aren't riled up about this madness. Needless to say...I won't be going to see this one.
Monday, August 11, 2008
Robert Downey Jr Plays a Black Dude???!
Labels:
bamboozled,
film,
robert downey jr.,
spike lee,
tropic thunder,
zumbi
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment