Thursday, August 28, 2008
Obama's Speech 8/28/08
I just watched Obama's speech and was definitely trippin off of the historic magnitude of the moment. On the anniversary of MLK's "I Have a Dream" speech, Obama took the stage. Is this for real? At points, I felt like I was watching an episode of the Twilight Zone..or maybe a scene from Malcolm X. I don't know. I felt joyous and elated with the fact that an African American had defied the odds by securing the Democratic nomination. Yet, the conspiracy brother in me could not help but feel slightly paranoid as the fireworks went off while Obama smiled with his family. Strange indeed. Maybe its me, but it all feels scripted in some bizarre way. Quite possibly I'm feeling this way because of the report that 3 men were arrested for talking about killing Obama, and were captured with meth and guns. I see that we're breaking new ground, but is it the same old party line with a new face? Is this some grand move of Masonic trickery? Its hard to tell. I'm voting Obama for sure, but of the political system in general, I'm still not a believer.
Labels:
dnc,
hip hop democratic national convention,
martin luther king,
masons,
mlk,
obama,
politics,
zion i,
zumbi
Tuesday, August 19, 2008
Remember When..the RAIDERS '86!!!
This is an oldie but goodie. Actually, this is for all the Raiders fans out there that desperately miss the glory days. The Raiders actually look aite this preseason. But that don't mean a thing. Last season they did good in the preseason...and stank up the regular season. We still go hard for the Raiders. Its also for my folks that are dedicated Madden heads...yall might laugh at this too. The raps are wack...and so is the beat...but who cares!
Sunday, August 17, 2008
Black Thought & Skillz Freestyle Battle
Yes yes yall! J Period put me up on this while we were chillin' at AmpLive's wedding in Mexico. Pure niceness. Real MC's will appreciate the skill and ease with which Black Thought and Skillz weave patterns, whilst kickin' it on the tour bus. Relax and enjoy true craftsmanship. MC'in ain't dead family...
Friday, August 15, 2008
DJ Vlad Sues Rick Ross for Severe Beatdown at Ozone Awards!!
I'm sure most of you hip hop fanatics have heard about Rick Ross being exposed as a correctional officer back in the day. It seems ironic that a dude who claims the dope game as his birthplace was also a prison guard. Strange indeed. Yet, the saga continues. It seems that the homey DJ Vlad had posted an interview with the Clipse where they were discussing Rick Ross's supposed "cop" background. Rick Ross got wind of this interview, and began text messaging DJ Vlad with cryptic messages. Somehow, while at the Ozone Awards, Rick Ross lured DJ Vlad into a hotel room, where 4 of his patnas beat DJ Vlad to a pulp. As a result, DJ Vlad is suing him, and with good reason. Its funny to me that Trick Daddy came out way before Vlad to air out Ross, but he did nothing to retaliate against Trick. Yet, when he had the chance to corner DJ Vlad, he went overboard. Now...is that gangsta??? Peep game...
Rick Ross Exposed
the Clipse interview...
Synopsis of the DJ Vlad/ Rick Ross Funk
Rick Ross Exposed
the Clipse interview...
Synopsis of the DJ Vlad/ Rick Ross Funk
Monday, August 11, 2008
Robert Downey Jr Plays a Black Dude???!
I'm all about comedy. In fact, I love to laugh. There's nothing I enjoy more than a hearty comedy to get the chuckles going. But, the new film "Tropic Thunder" doesn't seem that funny to me. Mainly, this is because of the fact that one of the main hooks of the movie is that Robert Downey Jr. is a white dude, made up and supposedly acting like a black dude. Now, I just don't get it. I thought Spike Lee had the last and final word on the whole "blackface" phenomena with "Bamboozled". In this film, this tragedy of whites entertaining themselves by creating stereotypical images of blacks is explored in a painful, oft times disturbing way. However, in "Tropic Thunder" it feels as if the pain underlying these damaging images has been ignored. I can't believe that in 2008, Hollywood has the audacity to "greenlight" such a wack ass concept. I read today that the film is being boycotted by several groups concerned about its negative portrayal of the handicapped. I'm wondering why black folks aren't riled up about this madness. Needless to say...I won't be going to see this one.
Labels:
bamboozled,
film,
robert downey jr.,
spike lee,
tropic thunder,
zumbi
Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Crazy OBAMA Illustrated in "the New Yorker"
I know we're making history in this country, with the first black presidential candidate and all. I also know that politics is a dirty game. What I don't know is how much racism from the collective unconscious of America will have to spew forth before we can move forward into a new day. Presumably, the muck-slinging has just begun, and I'm sure its going to get worse. The preview was Hillary, and her forthright attacks on Obama's race and class. I can only imagine what McCain is going to come with.
Case in point is the below illustration. Boy, the dude who drew this must really be scared. In his mind, he must equate blackness with anarchy and chaos, as is evidenced by the flag burning in the fireplace and a portrait of Bin Laden on the wall. He also has Michelle dressed like some neo-militant, and has Barack in traditional middle eastern garb. To add to this, they're giving each other the "terrorist" handshake...which just happens to be the ol skool greeting of choice amongst folks, but I guess white America doesn't know that?? Strange. I guess its supposed to be funny. Hardy ha ha...
Case in point is the below illustration. Boy, the dude who drew this must really be scared. In his mind, he must equate blackness with anarchy and chaos, as is evidenced by the flag burning in the fireplace and a portrait of Bin Laden on the wall. He also has Michelle dressed like some neo-militant, and has Barack in traditional middle eastern garb. To add to this, they're giving each other the "terrorist" handshake...which just happens to be the ol skool greeting of choice amongst folks, but I guess white America doesn't know that?? Strange. I guess its supposed to be funny. Hardy ha ha...
Friday, August 1, 2008
Ludacris Cited As Radical Obama Associate?? (haha!!)
Man I tell you...seems like the world is going crazy contemplating ways to stop Obama's candidacy. This time they've elected Luda as a radical. Fa real??? When did Ludacris become a radical?? Or maybe its just because he's loud, scary, and black. Its pure irony and comedy mixed up in an ugly blender. They're not going to stop going at this cat until he's finally elected, and even then I'd wager that he'll be held under a microscope to the nth degree by liberals and racists alike. Try as they may...McCain still seems doomed to failure. Peep game..
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)