There's one thing for sure about this presidential run-off, it sure has brought out the racists! Wow. I mean, for us people of color, we can feel yall a mile away. Its nothing new. The subtle sneers, and expectations of ignorant behavior have followed me for most of my life. But nowadays, most people "try" to hide their racist ways. Well, not today folks! Obama's proximity to the oval office has these fools bearing their fears to the free world. Its embarrassing that grown men and women should live their lives so scared. Fear is the mind killer. Well, they'll get theirs in the end. Karma is a mutha! Needless to say, a GOP group from San Bernadino, California sent out propaganda with Obama's face on a food stamp surrounded by chicken, kool aid, watermelon, and ribs. All the stereotypical snacks supposedly loved by black folks. I feel like I'm listening to that Ice Cube album where he says "Here's what they think about you...fuckin sell out!" These people have no class. This is the best they can do? These chumps are desperate and in a heap of trouble. Its sad that people will let a man's color determine their political decisions. I think its obvious that just cause your white, doesn't mean your entitled to lead. I know a lot of simpletons would like to think so, but think again. Evidence in case, your favorite son, George Dubya. Nuff said...
Friday, October 17, 2008
Obama Bucks (WACK!!)
Labels:
barack obama,
california,
food stamp,
george bush,
gop,
san bernadino,
zion i,
zumbi
Sunday, October 5, 2008
KIMBO is KO'D!!
The first time I saw Kimbo, I was like "Damn!! This fool is a hood super hero.." I mean cmawn..he would hop out the whip. Stroll up rocking a chain. Then, he'd commence to whoop ass! It was pretty entertaining and often funny. He seemed unstoppable. Some fights were better than others, but they all showcased Kimbo's hulking haymakers. That is except for the one, where he fought some tall ex MMA dude...and MMA guy ends up putting Kimbo to rest in a drawn out slug fest to the finish. For me, that was the one insight I needed into the phenomena of Kimbo. It seemed to me then, that the guys he was fighting before were just homies off the street, walk ups. They weren't in the gym training and conditioning professionally. That difference made Kimbo look like a throw back to modern myths like Iron Mike Tyson in his early internet days. But, as the tale unravels, I fear that my suspicion is correct. In this clip, he gets beat down by what looks to me like an average fighter. The guy who beat him was a last second fill in. 14 seconds. 1 punch. In fact, this almost doesn't look real. This may be the end of the once famed Kimbo. All praise to the almighty internet.
Wednesday, October 1, 2008
America: Gone are the Days of Grandeur
As I sit contemplating the prospect of America's economic failure, a dark cloud looms over my head. How did we get to this dreaded point? What will this mean for the commoner? Is this just more media hype?
With Obama surging past McCain, and the stock markets dropping precipitously, something feels different about this moment. It's as if the decades of careless opulence have caught up with us. No longer will the "American" image be one of glamour and wealth. Our lack of leadership has made sure of that. Our ill-conceived dependence on foreign oil has backed us into a corner. The question is whether we can fight our way out of this one. Sure, we bounced back from the Great Depression, but it took a World War to do it. In this day, we are already at war, and it no longer stimulates the economy as it once did. Huge defense money is recycled thru the dirty hands of politicians, and big business...while young people die in the sand. It's a wicked cycle.
Meanwhile, the American public champions wack performers like Sarah Palin. After 8 years without legitimate leadership, somehow we are still fascinated by the fashion show which is American politics. It's downright shameful. We've allowed the media to lash us back and forth in a popularity contest based on color and gender.
It's perplexing that the masses are so ignorant to mistake flash, for true leadership capability and insight. For, as the country struggles under the combined weight of 8 years of mismanaged government: (the S&L scandal, Enron, 9/11, war in the Middle East, rising gas prices, the devalued dollar & the mortgage crisis)...the crooked barons who've lead us here are not even questioned. Needless to say, they will be the least effected by the chaos since they've taken sufficient time to pad their pockets.
We live in changing times, in a crucial moment. How will we handle this great responsibility? The entire world watches with baited breath, as the true meaning of globalization is slowly realized. I pray that we can come together as a diverse, but unified people and overcome this challenge. But, with fear, greed, and racism at a seemingly all time high, it feels like the chances are slim. Yet, there is still the opourtunity to fly in the face of convention and finally, once and for all, do the right thing. We will soon truly see what the American people are made of.
With Obama surging past McCain, and the stock markets dropping precipitously, something feels different about this moment. It's as if the decades of careless opulence have caught up with us. No longer will the "American" image be one of glamour and wealth. Our lack of leadership has made sure of that. Our ill-conceived dependence on foreign oil has backed us into a corner. The question is whether we can fight our way out of this one. Sure, we bounced back from the Great Depression, but it took a World War to do it. In this day, we are already at war, and it no longer stimulates the economy as it once did. Huge defense money is recycled thru the dirty hands of politicians, and big business...while young people die in the sand. It's a wicked cycle.
Meanwhile, the American public champions wack performers like Sarah Palin. After 8 years without legitimate leadership, somehow we are still fascinated by the fashion show which is American politics. It's downright shameful. We've allowed the media to lash us back and forth in a popularity contest based on color and gender.
It's perplexing that the masses are so ignorant to mistake flash, for true leadership capability and insight. For, as the country struggles under the combined weight of 8 years of mismanaged government: (the S&L scandal, Enron, 9/11, war in the Middle East, rising gas prices, the devalued dollar & the mortgage crisis)...the crooked barons who've lead us here are not even questioned. Needless to say, they will be the least effected by the chaos since they've taken sufficient time to pad their pockets.
We live in changing times, in a crucial moment. How will we handle this great responsibility? The entire world watches with baited breath, as the true meaning of globalization is slowly realized. I pray that we can come together as a diverse, but unified people and overcome this challenge. But, with fear, greed, and racism at a seemingly all time high, it feels like the chances are slim. Yet, there is still the opourtunity to fly in the face of convention and finally, once and for all, do the right thing. We will soon truly see what the American people are made of.
Labels:
dollar,
economics,
enron,
gas,
middle east,
mortgage crisis,
politics,
sarah palin,
us politics,
zion i,
zumbi
Wednesday, September 24, 2008
Zion I @ Hip Hop Kemp (Europe's Largest Hip Hop Fest!!)
In this day and time, the music festival has made a dramatic resurgence. This is evidenced from Rock the Bells to Coachella. The festival has become the new communique of a given society's taste and culture. At the end of this past August, we were blessed to be able to perform at Hip Hop Kemp in the Czech Republic. For those that don't know, it is now Europe's most acclaimed Hip Hop festival (having passed up Germany's "Splash Fest"). This year it was located in an old Czech Airport hangar. Sprawling across hills and carved out Earth, it was estimated that there were at least 20,000 in attendance.
We arrived after a horrible layover in Switzerland (trust me, its a whole 'nother story) with about 3 hours of sleep under our belts. Walking into the hotel lobby we said what's up to Roxanne Shante and Bahamadia. Roxanne Shante??! That's right, she's still holding it down after 20+ years with a psychology practice and the whole nine. After that, we slept for as long as we could (about 2 hours) before having to head over to Kemp. At the spot, we were surrounded with artists from the world over. Ranging from the Roots to the Perceptionists, the Hip Hop galaxy was in full and total effect. What's interesting about the festival is that the crowd doesn't seem to care if you're indie or major, as long as you rock. With that said, check the following footage. It gives some insight into the sheer magnitude of the event. This was our last song of the night, and the crowd was feeling it. Shout out to Vinroc for the footage and the edit (he dj'd for us while AmpLive was on his honeymoon in Mexico). I got a Birds Eye View...
We arrived after a horrible layover in Switzerland (trust me, its a whole 'nother story) with about 3 hours of sleep under our belts. Walking into the hotel lobby we said what's up to Roxanne Shante and Bahamadia. Roxanne Shante??! That's right, she's still holding it down after 20+ years with a psychology practice and the whole nine. After that, we slept for as long as we could (about 2 hours) before having to head over to Kemp. At the spot, we were surrounded with artists from the world over. Ranging from the Roots to the Perceptionists, the Hip Hop galaxy was in full and total effect. What's interesting about the festival is that the crowd doesn't seem to care if you're indie or major, as long as you rock. With that said, check the following footage. It gives some insight into the sheer magnitude of the event. This was our last song of the night, and the crowd was feeling it. Shout out to Vinroc for the footage and the edit (he dj'd for us while AmpLive was on his honeymoon in Mexico). I got a Birds Eye View...
Labels:
czech republic,
deuce eclipse,
germany,
hip hop kemp,
the perceptionists,
the roots,
vinroc,
zion i,
zumbi
Friday, September 19, 2008
Blacks Against Obama???
I was watching Current TV...and this clip jumped off the screen! It starts off with Obama doin his thing. Suddenly, you notice a rowdy buzz. Obama strains to feign indifference. But the buzz grows into a slow roar, and suddenly the camera pans up to signs that read "KKK"?? What kinda shit is this? Then, I see that these are black folks!? Now its just weird. Given...some of my folks have definitely expressed concern about what Obama will actually be able to change when he gets in. I hear that. But it just feels ackward to read signs saying "Obama is for the KKK". C'mawn man! I'm perplexed as to how a black man could ever rep that, no matter the point being made. I mean, I get what they're trying to say (though I don't agree), but damn?! Some would say that the Republicans paid these fools. At this point, who knows. Politics...makes me sick.
Labels:
barack obama,
blacks against obama,
current,
current tv,
democrats,
obama,
republicans,
zion i,
zumbi
Thursday, September 4, 2008
Remembering Bernie Mac
I know I'm a little late with this, but I had to pay proper respects to my man. The first time I saw him was on Def Comedy Jam and I immediately recognized his immaculate timing and authenticity. In my humble opinion, true comedians are natural, and Bernie Mac was no exception. He was one of those dudes who could say anything and have the whole room cracking up. Two of my favorite performances of his were Fridays, and Players Club. On Aug. 9th he died from pneumonia at the age of 50. Most of us didn't see it coming at all. This is in memory of one of our greats...
Thursday, August 28, 2008
Obama's Speech 8/28/08
I just watched Obama's speech and was definitely trippin off of the historic magnitude of the moment. On the anniversary of MLK's "I Have a Dream" speech, Obama took the stage. Is this for real? At points, I felt like I was watching an episode of the Twilight Zone..or maybe a scene from Malcolm X. I don't know. I felt joyous and elated with the fact that an African American had defied the odds by securing the Democratic nomination. Yet, the conspiracy brother in me could not help but feel slightly paranoid as the fireworks went off while Obama smiled with his family. Strange indeed. Maybe its me, but it all feels scripted in some bizarre way. Quite possibly I'm feeling this way because of the report that 3 men were arrested for talking about killing Obama, and were captured with meth and guns. I see that we're breaking new ground, but is it the same old party line with a new face? Is this some grand move of Masonic trickery? Its hard to tell. I'm voting Obama for sure, but of the political system in general, I'm still not a believer.
Labels:
dnc,
hip hop democratic national convention,
martin luther king,
masons,
mlk,
obama,
politics,
zion i,
zumbi
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)